What Exactly is Gluten?
Gluten is a protein that is found in several types of grains. Two proteins that are of concern that gluten contains are Gliadin and Glutenin. Gliadin is the primary protein that people who suffer from Gluten intolerance. Celiac disease, non celiac sensitivity and wheat allergy all fall under the category of gluten intolerance.
When whole grains or wheat is washed during processing to remove the starch, the resulting nitrogenous substance that remains is Gluten.
What are the Potential Affects?
Basically it attacks the intestinal walls and causes digestive problems. Damage can occur to the intestinal walls and the individual suffering from the effects does not get the nutrients out of the foods consumed.
In 2011 a gastroenterology professor at the Monash University in Australia conducted a study stating that non-celiac gluten sensitivity is a real condition as reported by Clear Science. Not satisfied with the results he conducted a new one on people with declared, I repeat declared, not confirmed gluten sensitivity and IBS.
He gave four separate diets. The first low in fermentable poorly absorbed short chain carbohydrates for two weeks. Subjects were then given one of three diets, a high gluten diet, low gluten diet and whey and a control diet with whey protein diet. All subjects had worsening symptoms no matter which diet they were on.
I disagree with his nocebo effect findings and here is why. Who were his control subjects? Any elderly? It’s a known fact any athletic enthusiasts know whey protein is concentrated and don’t need the extra protein and can get enough through the foods daily such as lean beef, chicken and fish etc. Have you ever consumed by whey protien and beed overwhelmed with excess gas or the craps? I do not agree with this study because of it;s lack of information on the variables.
However I do agree with the diet low in fermentable poorly absorbed short chain carbohydrates due to the fact that the sugars are hard to break down. Grains many times processed in the form of little twigs damage the intestinal lining leading to increased sensitivity to any foods. This is why people with gluten intolerance have a hard time pinpointing the food that is the culprit in their digestive issues. In the end it’s you that ultimately has to suffer with these problems, so do your research and look at all studies with an open mind. Like I said above it’s all in the variables in the study. Who they use, age and any other diseases that might effect their findings.
Is Gluten Bad for Weight Loss?
Absolutely. Getting grains out of the diet altogether is a great thing because they cause inflammation throughout the entire body. It also disrupts hormone production.
Grains in general contain phytic acid which is know to block mineral absorption. This includes all grains such as wheat, rye, barley, & oats.
Eating Tips Instead of Pre-packaged “Gluten Free” Foods
Most so called gluten free foods in the supermarket that are pre-packaged, are high in starch and sugar and are not conducive to weight loss. Your best bet would be to eat lean meats, fresh fruits and vegetables.
I would suggest eliminating grains altogether, However, for those who still feel that they need some form of grain in their diet, rice is an acceptable grain. Brown rice is better than white.
Another grain option is Quinoa.
Foods containing Gluten
* If the label doesn’t read gluten free, they might contain gluten.
Examples of such foods are bagels, baked beans(canned), beer, biscuits, bread, bread crumbs, breaded meats, breaded veggies, breaded fish, bread pudding, broth(stock), cake, cereal, cheese(pre shredded) has ingredients that contain gluten, chicken nuggets, cookies, corn dogs, couscous, crab cakes, crackers, croissant, courtons, cupcakes, custard, cold cuts IE lunch meats, doughnuts, dumplings, french toast, french fries, fried food, funnel cakes, graham crackers, gravies, gum, hot dogs, hot dog and hamburger buns, hush puppies, ice cream, ice cream cones, macaroni, malted milk, matzos, meatballs, meatloaf, meat substitutes, melba toast, muesli, muffins, non-dairy creamer, noodles, oatmeal, pancakes, pasta, pastries, pies and the crust, pita bread, pizza and it’s crust, potato chips, pretzels, pudding, rolls, salad dressing, sauces, sausages, semolina, soup, sour cream, spaghetti, tortillas, stuffing, tabbouleh, waffles, yogurt, & veggie burgers(soy based).
Other Items and Ingredients that Contain Gluten
Other common occurrences are found in alcohol spirits, barley, bran, breading, brewers yeast, broth, Bulgar, coating mixes(shake-n-bake), couscous, dextrimaltose, flour, fruit fillings, graham flour, imitation bacon, imitation seafood, kamut,malt, marinades, msg, oats unless label states gluten free, rye, seitan, semolina, soup bases, soy sauce, spelt, starch, syrup, tamari, teriyaki sauce, thickeners, triticale, wheat, wheat berries, wheat bran, wheat germ, wheat gluten, wheat grass, wheat nuts, wheat protein, & wheat starch.
Do your homework and read labels carefully to find hidden gluten. These can include anti-caking ingredients,artificial color, artificial flavor, caramel, coloring, ketchup, demiglace, dextrins, emulsifiers, food starch, glucose syrup, maltodextrin, maltose, miso,mono and diglycerides, mustard, rice syrup, seasoning, shortening, smoke flavoring, sour cream, spices, stabilizers, starch, stock, tomato paste, vanilla, vegetable shortening ,vitamins, & yeast.
Alcohol like beer contains gluten, there are now gluten-free beers. Most alcohol like bourbon, rye, scotch and vodka are distilled and the gluten is removed.
Remember to read labels and ask questions. You can even call companies to make sure their product is processed in a gluten free facility.